Annual Celebration Award Winners!

In celebration of our members’ efforts toward increased, sustainable, and healthier affordable housing options, and in celebration of our collective work, we annually recognize those organizations and/or individuals who have been outstanding champions of HDC’s mission and have made an important impact in the community and affordable housing sector. The following awards were given out in 2020:

The Municipal Champion Award recognizes an elected or appointed public official or city/county department/entity, which through exemplary leadership has made exceptional contributions to the state of affordable housing in our community.

  • The City of Burien

    The City is being recognized for working collaboratively with community leaders to adopt an affordable housing demonstration program, a suite of policies, and an inspection program to ensure healthy housing in their city. The new demonstration program creates an opportunity for the city to provide incentives and flexibility for the development of affordable housing over the next three years. Burien intends to use this as an opportunity to evaluate potential barriers to the construction of affordable housing and make recommendations on changes to development regulations.

  • The City of Kenmore

    The City is being recognized fo adopting zoning to preserve manufactured housing communities last year, as well as for their work on Multi-Family Tax Exemption, and the mayor’s leadership co-chairing the Regional Affordable Housing Task Force. The city’s efforts represent a major concerted effort to preserve some of the most affordable housing left in the county.

Board of Directors Award recognizes exemplary leadership in the affordable housing sector, and is given at the sole discretion of HDC’s Board of Directors.

  • Jill Fleming, Senior VP and Deputy Director, Capitol Hill Housing

    Jill has worked in the field of affordable housing development for over three decades first as a CPA with Loveridge Hunt, then for Capitol Hill Housing, currently as Senior Vice President and Deputy Director of this 44-year old organization. She has become a community leader as well as a nationally regarded practitioner. Her deep knowledge of the complicated financing and compliance regulations within the Low Income Housing Tax Credit Program, HUD, City, County, and State financing sources has made her a sought after expert in our wonky, complicated field. Jill has worked to create strong organizations throughout Washington State. She has a proven track record of taking on challenging projects, improving the finances of organizations, and making an impact beyond her organization. Initially the Director of Finance, Jill has been instrumental in the growth and stability of Capitol Hill Housing. Helping the ongoing transformation of a grassroots organization into a nationally recognized real estate developer, owner and operator. Jill is the treasurer of HDC, has served on the boards of the Affordable Housing Management Association of Washington, the Capitol Hill Chamber of Commerce and the Mt. Baker Housing Association. She holds an MBA from the University of Washington and a BA from The Evergreen State College. HDC is thrilled to be recognizing Jill for her long-time service in the affordable housing sector and for the legacy she leaves in affordable housing finance.

  • Bill Rumpf, President, Mercy Housing NW

    Bill has over 25 years of experience in affordable housing development, operations, and homeless systems and policy. He oversees development, resident services and resource development for Mercy Housing Northwest. Bill’s senior leadership experience includes public and nonprofit housing roles where he has had a leadership role in connecting healthcare and housing. Bill serves on the state’s Health Innovation Leadership Network, which provides guidance to the state’s Healthier Washington plan. He is also a member of the Enterprise Community Leadership Council and Chase Community Advisory Board for Washington, and was recently appointed to the Community Advisory Board of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco. Prior to joining MHNW, Bill was the Deputy Director for the Seattle Office of Housing, serving in an executive management role for Seattle’s affordable housing finance agency with an annual budget of $43 million with cumulative transactions in excess of $500 million. HDC is thrilled to recognize Bill for his years of exemplary leadership and service to the affordable housing sector and the community beyond!

The Carla Okigwe Award honors of the vision and leadership of HDC founding Executive Director, Carla Okigwe. Individual recipients are chosen for their exemplary contributions to the affordable housing movement and a clear commitment to bettering the lives of those struggling and the communities in which they live.

Mark Santos-Johnson, Community Development & Housing Manager, City of Renton

Mark Santos-Johnson has been working tirelessly in the housing industry for decades – from working to build a shelter program with Fremont Public Association, to supporting the construction of thousands of homes, to spending the last twenty years dedicated to developing affordable and livable communities in Renton.

While with the City of Renton, Mark spearheaded the revitalization of the Sunset neighborhood. He worked to complete and submit two requests for HUD Choice Neighborhood grants to support community revitalization. When the project did not receive funding, Mark worked to identify additional resources, notably recruiting AmeriCorps VISTA to support the neighborhood development, so that community improvements would continue to be made. To date over $100 million has been invested in the Sunset neighborhood. Most of these directed resources can be attributed, at least tangentially, to Mark’s work. He is a tireless advocate for the community and works to hold the City accountable to its promises.

Mark often flies under the radar, and deserves to be recognized for his years of service to the sector.

Watch HDC present Mark with the 2020 Carla Okigwe Award